A Retraction.

Or, I Don’t Like To But I Can Admit When I Make A Mistake by S.R. Torris
So on a recent blog I said that the following poem was written by Noël Joseé:

The fountains mingle with the river
And the rivers with the ocean
The winds of heaven mix forever
With a sweet emotion
Nothing in the world is single
All things by a law divine
In one another’s being mingle
Why not I with thine?

See, the mountains kiss high heaven
And the waves clasp one another
No sister flower would be forgiven
If it disdained its brother
And the sunlight clasps the earth
And the moonbeams kiss the sea-
What are all these kissings worth
If thou kiss not me?

Turns out, it’s not. Made an assumption because she had it posted and I assumed wrong. Very sorry about that folks. I don’t know who wrote this or what it’s called but if YOU know, please give me a holla so I can give credit where it’s due. After all, it did inspire me to flex some poetic Kung Fu. As for Noël Joseé, here is a poem written by her. Don’t know it’s title but go ahead and enjoy it anyway!

Those who dared knew it all along…

Now, I know it too.

It’s gonna take some getting used to. Gotta break in these new shoes. Like the most perfect pair of wing-tip Oxfords, I’m awe-inspiring.

Gasp and swoon, catch my vapors.

I’m weird. Different. That funky eclecticism that draws you in.

Not only do I march to the beat of my own drum but I stretched the belly and MADE that shit.

I prance and dance and flutter. Couldn’t give two if you don’t dig my moves. Cause they’re mine.

Maybe my wingspan is too magnificent. Maybe my feathers are too brightly colored.

You see these sparkling pinions? They give me flight. You’d be wise to bask in my splendor. It might only be yours for a moment.

Coquettish, I am. Easily a muse.

Easily amused. My giggles tickle your nose. My tactility curls your toes and when you respond to my tease…

The arches in our backs grow.

I can understand your fear and hesitation. In a world where hearts guarded with electrified fences and rabid beasts is the norm, yet mine is open with a spout for the pourin’. You’re addlepated.

While I’m left alone to be twitterpated.

See, I’m yours for the taking but you’ve been taught that love don’t come easy.

Thankfully, I never fell for that shit.

I’ll remain chaste until she gallops forth. Bareback Appaloosa. Beautiful and wild. Uninhibited.

She sees me. She wants me. She needs me. She knows me.

I suppose only the worthy WOULD know. Or could know.

I’ll be exactly what she’s been dreaming of by simply being myself and the reverse will be true. My dream woman.

She will love me effortlessly and endlessly. She will rescue me. Whoever she is. Wherever she is…

And I know this because I’m finally worth it.

To me.

Copyright © 2012 Noël Joseé

I do not own this image

2 thoughts on “A Retraction.

Leave a Reply

